weekend roundup

I really just want to say two things here, because I need to go to bed. One is that I was walking home from the grocery store tonight and saw a guy getting on his bike with no pants on. I thought it odd, but being that I was at 17 and Corcoran (gay area of Dupont for those of you who don’t know), it didn’t strike me as all that unusual. Luckily, I just read up on my blogs before bedtime only to find out that today was the annual No Pants Metro Ride in DC. Had no idea. Had I known, maybe I would have taken some time out of my day as well and gone for a little metro stroll (since I love the metro so much), without pants on myself. I mean, why not? It’s only 20 degrees out.

Secondly, I’d like to point out that I went to a new bar called Paddy Boom Boom on U Street last night. I had heard it was coming and someone who had been told me it was good, so I figured why not check it out. When we walked into the place, I saw and immediately smelled the aroma of some serious beef patties being made downstairs. Yes, this smells better than Julia’s Empanadas, so I can’t wait to get my little paws on one of these things. I asked the bouncer what the name of the new joint was, and my friends thought he was kidding. I, for one, figured he was not, since the entire place smells like beef patties and U Street is on the eclectic side, thus why I like it. Regardless, it is confirmed. Paddy Boom Boom, from the people who brought you Marvin and The Gibson, is open for business. They clearly have a few kinks to work out as they ran into a bathroom malfunction so had to shut the place down around midnight last night. But the music and atmosphere upstairs are good. As long as you don’t mind smelling like a beef patty after you leave, I’d recommend checking it out. I honestly felt like I was back in Jamaica. While the people I was with may not have fully appreciated how the bar differentiates itself from all the others in DC, I did. So give it a whirl, and give me a call when you roll through.

One Response to weekend roundup

  1. Nicole says:

    Oh no, I’m so sorry I missed the No Pants on the Metro Day. I wouldn’t have participated because it was too cold but I would have loved to have been there to witness all the pantless people. If they do this when it’s warmer, like in May, I’d be all over it.

Leave a comment