procrastination station

I’m moving. It’s official and really happening. This time I signed a lease and now cannot back out. But oddly, I feel very good about this decision. Really need to move away from the insanity of U Street, as much as I love it, to just chill out a bit with my life. You know, get serious. Maybe meet a guy and settle down. If not, perfectly fine settling down with myself in the burbs of DC. That’s right, I’m moving to the burbs. Sara is officiallly retiring. I will be in McLean Gardens, a very woodsy little neighborhood near the National Cathedral. Very pretty and relaxing up there. The deciding factor was the relaxation I felt every time I looked at a unit in the neighborhood. And then a less than 20 minute commute to work? Consider it done. Sara is leaving U Street after over three years. U Street, it’s been real. I’ll still visit, most likely frequently, but I do not need to live in the middle of the mayhem. Love ya.

That being said, what was the point of this blog again? hmmm. I know I had something funny to say. Well, maybe not, I think it’s been a while since I blogged and I wanted to report to you all about the move. It was a long time coming. And no, I’m not buying, but renting to see if I like it over there before buying. It is outside of my comfort zone (U Street) for sure, so I need to make sure I like it before diving into that type of commitment.

Oh! I remember. I was going to post a Facebook status update but then figured it was funny enough to warrant a blog post. Today I posted a few items on freecycle. As you well know, one of the reasons I’m leaving is to flee the scene that is Roachville. Now we also have a lot of construction surrounding the building to add in as well, but that is a mere inconvenience compared to waking up to roaches crawling on you. No big deal. Anyway, I posted my couch on freecycle this morning, warning freecyclers that I am indeed getting rid of my favorite couch of all time because I don’t want to risk bringing roaches along for the ride to my new apartment. We won’t even get into detail about the other preventive measures I’m having to go through because of this (yes, I know, I’m probably being overzealous but I figure the ROI here is far stronger than not doing anything at all). Anyway, I post my couch on freecycle. At the same time, I post my toaster oven, which was literally picked up from my apartment within the hour [I love freecycle – people take anything]. But apparently, they don’t take 10 year old green couches that could potentially be harboring baby roach eggs in the frame. I’ll give it a couple more hours, but it’s not looking good.

Talk soon.

5 Responses to procrastination station

  1. JK says:

    i’ve never heard of freecycle, is that like craigslist but without the flaky people? and i’m pretty sure nobody wants a couch that could possibly have roach eggs! lol

    • Sara says:

      JK – freecycle is amazing! Definitely a place where anyone will take anything. And I literally mean ANYTHING. Except apparently couches from roach infested apartments.

  2. Nicole says:

    Hey there, girl! I thought I’d check your blog to see if you still post and looky here. You do! Nice to see you’re still around.

    Congratulations on the move! You’ll still be in the city, so it’s all good. Don’t need to be right in the center of it all to enjoy all that DC has to offer. I’m so excited for you. Even though the actual act of moving is one of the worst things ever, living in a different place is always a lot of fun.

    Freecycle is the best because you’re right, they take anything. I’m surprised no one picked up your couch despite the roach warnings. I figured that someone could post an ad for used undies on freecycle and SOMEBODY would want it.

    I just hate the freecyclers who don’t show up or the ones who email you with a whole sob story about why THEY should get those candlesticks before anyone else. LOL.

    Anyhoo…

    Good luck with the move! I hope you’ll have more stories to share.

    • Sara says:

      hey!!! I will need to catch up on your blog too! work has kept me out of the blogosphere recently so I’m not as up to date with anything other than work recently. Anyway, thanks for checking in! Get this – Salvation Army is now picking up both my couch AND mattress the day of my move, which is perfect timing since I need my mattress to sleep on up until then anyway. So it all worked out in the end. 🙂 I’ve never had a freecycler not show up or email with sob stories. I guess maybe I haven’t been on it as much to get to that point. haha

      • Nicole says:

        Well, good luck with move. I don’t envy you on the actual moving-of-stuff part. But it’ll be great to be in a new space in a more chill neighborhood. Let us know how it goes. And don’t drop any heavy boxes on your toes!

Leave a Reply

