online dating update

Nothing has changed really. Made the mistake of giving a guy from okcupid my number. We will call this guy John for simplicities sake. In payback for giving my number out, this was the string of text messages I have received to date:

John: Good morning sara….dis is john. How are u?

Did he just write “dis?” Are we in the 10th grade? Okay fine, I’ll give him a pass this time…maybe it was a mistake.

Sara: I’m fine and u? Just got back from a run. It’s hot out.
John: Dats good info…i’ll delay my run till late..close to dusk…

Beginning to question my ability to give my number out to normal, reasonable guys. But again, maybe the ‘dis’ and ‘dat’ is just a fluke. I’ll start giving short responses back.

Sara: Smart move.
John (a number of hours later): Just returned frm a run…dink i lost a lb of water… 😉

Okay now, ‘dink?’ This is where I draw the line and rethink my earlier email agreement to meet for coffee on Sunday. I decide it’s not going to happen.

John: (next day) Gosh…another humid day…

Am I supposed to respond to that?

John: (following day) Hey…wat u up to?

Doesn’t merit a response. Between dis, dat, and dink…I’m not really quite sure what to make of this one. Does he think inserting the letter D in front of words makes him look cool? Was it really that difficult to type the H in ‘what?’ Emails appeared to be normal, but then as soon as we progressed to the next level of online dating communication, things went haywire.

Until next time, DC.

One Response to online dating update

  1. JK says:

    dis is wack, u ned anuder name for dis guy

Leave a Reply

