FML

Update:

– Called landlord to see if she’d be willing to work with me on getting rid of the roaches via an exterminator, and to see if I could renege my notice to vacate if so. Left voicemail and she of course has yet to respond. She is going to drive me mad.
– $2000+ CoHi apartment is listed on craigslist now so will be gone within the day.
– Called exterminator yesterday who was optimistic that the problem can be addressed, despite the whole building not being treated simultaneously.
– $1800 low income housing unit was rented to someone else. Haven’t heard from the other unit in the building.
– Killed what I believe to be a baby cockroach this morning. Put evidence in plastic bag. I’m getting good at this “I’m going to eff my landlord” thing.
– Still waiting on landlord. Again, maybe this is another sign to GTFOH. That and the baby cockroach.

FML

2 Responses to FML

  1. Sylvia says:

    That’s messed up. I can’t stand roaches. One thing for certain make sure your kitchen or home area has no open food. Any open bags/boxes of food the roaches will get into. Even a open bag of flour. Make sure you keep your kitchen & eating area spotless of any crumbs. Roaches can smell it. Get some ammonia and put in a spray bottle or use windex to spray on counter tops, around fridge and other areas. Roaches don’t like ammonia smells. I would hire a pest control guy and bill the landlord. You as a tenant have rights to live in a bug free environment. Roaches can carry diseases.

  2. Sylvia says:

    If you decide to move leave a lovely rating online so folks out there will be on the lookout for a roach infested place. Apartment ratings.com will let anybody upload photos if anyone wants to post them about the places they are rating. If it was me in that situation I would have called my prepaid legal services to give the landlord a nice time. >:-D

Leave a Reply

