changes

All changes, even the most longed for, have their melancholy; for what we leave behind us is a part of ourselves; we must die to one life before we can enter another. – Anatole France

I’ve been at my current job for almost 3.5 years now. That’s a standard amount of time before a next move. Friday is my last day. The position I’m moving to is a great opportunity, pretty much exactly what I want to be doing. So why am I getting so sad as my end date nears? Having said goodbye to a few people already, I can’t help but want to cry each time I do. It’s not like I’ll never see these people again. But even if I still work with them, it will never be in the same capacity. It will not be the same.

Why is changing so hard, even if the change is for the best? I was cleaning out my cube today, cabbing home with all my items while looking longingly at the city. I will miss everyone, I’ll miss my work, I’ll miss working in the city, and I’ll even miss my bosses and the daily greetings from the security guards. So while many people leave their jobs because they aren’t happy, that isn’t why I am leaving. Sure, certain things weren’t ideal, but I love the work that I do and most of the people I work with. It’s just that an even better opportunity presented itself that was tough to pass up. Even if it requires change.

If you aren’t willing to change and step out of your comfort zone, you aren’t willing to grow.  And if you don’t grow, you aren’t really living.  With that, I’m trying to make myself feel better. Because even though I am moving on to a great opportunity, it is scary. It is unknown. It is difficult to say goodbye. But in the long run it will be for the best, even if it means leaving all that I’ve known for the past three years. My daily routine will change. My circle of friends might change. While it’s sad to say goodbye, I must embrace it. Because the only thing constant in life is change.

One Response to changes

  1. Nicole says:

    Congratulations on the new job! And good luck!

Leave a Reply

