book recommendations

Since I’m being uber unproductive at the moment, I figured I’d post this after someone recommended that I do so. Yesterday, I posted on my gchat status asking for book recommendations. I have been having a serious problem getting through any book recently, so figured if some of these had excellent reviews, I should be able to get through them. Also, I need books for my trip to Mexico next week (yay!). And holy crap did the ideas come swarming in. I figured I’d pass along to you all in case you are interested in a good read, recommendations compliments my friends.

  1. The Hunger Games trilogy – I actually got two votes for this. And the second vote came after I had already bought the first two books in the series. Perfect easy beach reading for my trip next week.
  2. Freedom, by Jonathan Franzen
  3. Imaginary Jesus, by Matt Mikalatos
  4. Unbroken, by Lauren Hillenbrand
  5. The Passage, by Justin Cronin
  6. This Historian, by Elizabeth Kostova
  7. The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo series, by Stieg Larsson
  8. The Lemon Tree, by Sandy Tolan
  9. The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks, by Rebecca Skloot
  10. The Face on Your Plate, by Jeffrey Masson
  11. The Demon-Haunted World, by Carl Sagan
  12. Gone Boy, by Gregory Gibson
  13. One Day, by David Nicolls
  14. The Help, by Kathryn Stockett

The following were not recommended to me, but this is what I’m recommending to you.

  1. Omnivore’s Dilemma, by Michael Pollan – I actually haven’t read this yet, but just bought it. I made the mistake of watching Food, Inc. and now am on a quest  for more information about the food industry. I’m also looking into farm shares and researched reverse osmosis water filtration systems. Could barely get through a taco salad with meat yesterday after watching this movie. Oh the joys of being healthy.
  2. Roots, by Alex Haley. I read this years ago and it still remains probably my favorite book of all time.
  3. Night, by Elie Wiesel. Another one of my faves. I like to read about depressing, real topics.
  4. City of Thieves, by David Benioff. This was recommended to me by an old eharmony date. Actually, I told him I hadn’t gotten through a book in a year while we were at a bookstore on our third date, so he just went and bought it for me. After that he never called me again. I have come to realize that everyone serves a purpose in our life, albeit big or small. He showed me that I can indeed get through a book if it is captivating enough. This is captivating. Highly recommend.
  5. Kaffir Boy, by Mark Mathabane. Excellent.
  6. A Long Way Gone, by Ishmael Beah

I’ll update this list when I think of more. If anyone has additional recommendations, please let me know so I can add it to the list!

Happy reading.

3 Responses to book recommendations

  1. Dave's Sister says:

    I second whoever’s recommendation for The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks. I love love loved that book. (And also, add The Chris Farley Show to your list. Even if you don’t like him, or didn’t watch SNL, the book is fascinating and tragic and beautifully written.)

  2. RS says:

    I have some of the books on the list if you want to borrow any of them – including the The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks, the Girl with the Dragon Tattoo series and the Help!

Leave a Reply

