SOTU 2011

Okay I’m doing it again. Another State of the Union live blog post.

Little late…I think we are 15 minutes in already. But let’s just say – this guy is good. He is literally speaking word for word from speech text, or so I hear. Pretty redic impressive if you ask me.

  • Mo cleverly pointed out that there was no mention of Foursquare during the internet shoutout to Facebook and Google. WTF?
  • HE’S sending a budget to Congress?! I’m not even going to comment on that one.
  • I’m not gonna lie, I actually like this Dems/Republicans interspersed throughout the chamber as opposed to on opposite sides. Does give off the fake illusion of both parties working together toward a common goal.
  • John Boehner looks like he’s about to cry.
  • BTW looks like someone is stimulating the economy by hitting their local Palm Beach Tan.
  • [I can’t claim that one on my own either, stole it from a friend’s Facebook post]
  • John Kerry! What the hell has he been up to? He looks like he’s wearing a mask.
  • What the heck are Biden and Boehner laughing about? Is something funny here?
  • They really liked that ‘pat down’ comment. Traveling, without the pat down!
  • BTW saw Kathy walk in a little before the Pres earlier. I have two pictures with her. I’m famous.
  • Hey it’s Max! We are on a first name basis. FYI
  • Who gets seats to this thing? Honestly, I’d rather not be there.
  • Who the hell is that guy and that is one ridiculous wig he’s got on. That or he is in the Hair Club for Men.
  • My boy Boehner looks bored as shit.
  • Waxman. Okay this is truly sad that I know who everyone is during individual cameo shots.
  • Boehner is finally smiling now upon mention of changing the health care law. This guy is going to be a real pleasure to work with in the coming years, I can tell.
  • Boehner still smiling during this discussion. Really? The smirk?
  • Didn’t he propose a freeze last year on discretionary spending? So is this freeze on top of last year’s freeze? Wowzers.
  • $400B saved over the next decade? Seriously, how is this possible bud? Just wondering.
  • I can tell you how to save some money. How about getting rid of this awesome computer system we just installed in our office that has no point whatsoever and is actually killing productivity.
  • oh heyyyy Hillary. This could have been you.
  • phhhh Boehner just looked shocked that Pres said cutting discretionary spending isn’t the only way to cut spending.
  • I wonder if they tell him not to make faces during the speech.
  • Oh jeez med mal reform.
  • I really find that the most amusing part of this is watching the Speaker of the House behind the Pres.
  • Boehner just clapped about simplifying the individual tax code. A positive reaction.
  • Hey is he making fun of black and white TVs? Has he SEEN my wood panel tube?
  • Oh really. When you meet with lobbyists the information is put online? Didn’t know that.
  • I’d like to see you veto those bills with earmarks in it. I love ya Barack, but I call bullshit.
  • Man this is a long speech.
  • Biden has perma-frown. If you compare the lip lines between the two (Biden and Boehner), it’s actually quite amusing. Boehner is flatlined.
  • Michelle – isn’t she sick of this whole Presidency thing yet?
  • Okay I can’t stop focusing on the lip lines.
  • Did he just say Iraq war? I completely forgot about that thing.
  • Still on international security. I lost interest after the health reform discussion.
  • It’s freezing in my apartment. Appropriate.
  • I didn’t see this in the news, but I can only assume that the little white bow on everyone’s vest is for Congresswoman Giffords. Yes/no?
  • Still too many men in this Congress. More women please? Don’t worry, I’m workin my way up. Could use a little more racial diversity too. Thanks.
  • He’s going to Brazil!? I am contemplating a trip myself!
  • Boehner slowly moving to a frown.
  • I swear John Kerry is wearing a mask. He actually looks like one of those Kerry masks you find in the costume stores.
  • I really could use a good flat screen; in fact I can’t believe I still have this little piece of history. I’d like to use this opportunity to post a pic of my TV again.

  • Boehner just drank some water. Okay why am I still watching this thing?
  • awww Nancy in the audience. She’s always wearing a very interesting colored suit for SOTU.
  • P.S. can you believe a Tea Partier is doing a second rebuttal? This should be interesting.
  • Wow, he’s touching on gays and the military. Times are changing.
  • ROTC! I haven’t thought about or heard that since undergrad. haha
  • Is this thing over yet? Ready for bed.
  • How in the world did he memorize this entire speech???? I’m still in shock.
  • He doesn’t know of one person who wouldn’t like to trade places with any other nation on earth? Um, I’d like to trade places with someone in Spain.
  • Yep, I think Boehner is about to cry at his upbringing shoutout.
  • America! America! America! We do big things. He really has a way of getting people riled up.

Donezo. Not bad Pres. Hopefully your approval ratings go up after this. Thanks for listening in everyone. Sorry if this wasn’t as amusing as last years’ effort. I did my best.

4 Responses to SOTU 2011

  1. jwr says:

    Great job Sara!

  2. Jean says:

    Do you honestly know anything about Spain other than what you learned on your visit? You’d be miz there. Totally different economy/healthcare/everything!

Leave a Reply

