happy new year!

Well hello – how is everyone’s new year going so far? I must say, my friends and I ended 2010 with a bang and 2011 so far has not been too shabby. Things are looking up. Not only that, but wordpress is now doing a summary of 2010 blog stats – and my blog was rated by the blog-health-o-meter as a “wow.” I’m not really sure what that means, but I’ll take it. Maybe I should go big time…i.e. get my own domain and start getting a little income from ads. I know my life is interesting and all, but maybe that would call for a slight change in topic. More DC blogging, less about my life. Actually, that would be really boring comparatively. So maybe having two blogs is the way to go.

Okay so resolutions. I haven’t thought about this until now so here we are:

  1. Drink less. I know that hanging out with as fun and crazy a crowd as I do means this task will prove quite difficult, but this insane partying I’ve been doing recently just has to stop. Or at least be limited somewhat. As I said, 2010 certainly ended on a high note [more on this later if you are lucky…definitely some blogable material right here].
  2. More volunteering.  I’ve spoken of this before so I won’t bore you on the topic.
  3. Do a tri or half marathon – I’m thinking the half is more doable since I’ve already signed up for the Cherry Blossom 10 miler again; factoring in a serious triathalon training routine as well doesn’t seem that feasible but we shall see.
  4. Figure out where I want to go with my career/location. I have always loved DC and never saw myself leaving, but this recent trip to Spain has really opened my eyes. A detail of some sort would be ideal, but perhaps other career tracks will open themselves up as well. Writing, for instance. I could write all day. Perhaps I could make some sort of career out of it.
  5. If I stay in DC, I’m getting a dog.
  6. More reading of books and staying up on current events. Besides the local DC blogs, I honestly usually just follow the national news related to my career topic. But more importantly, I need to stay up on world events. The world doesn’t revolve around the U.S.A. people.
  7. Get a much better hold on my finances. Last week, as you may recall, I did not get paid. Quite ridiculous considering who I work for. But anyway, since I had very little money saved due to depletion of my account from trip to Spain, I was running on no funding all week. Very risky. One must always factor in a portion of savings in case your employer decides not to pay you. Also, need to save save save for trips out west to ski and for possible trip to Brazil with the crew (UBG). No, I will not leave you guys this time. I don’t think. 🙂
  8. Becoming a better decision maker in my personal life is not an option. There is no way I can continue on this track as it has proved very destructive in past relationships and to my own emotional health, as being this conflicted about certain things means I’m living my life on a tightrope and then constantly regretting decisions that are too late for change. Change, while difficult, is a natural part of life and usually happens for the better. I just have to go with my gut and move on.

That’s all I can think of right now. Happy new year to all. My fellow UBG member, Fred [not to be confused with my recent eHarmony date named Fred], said it best during his NYE toast, very elegantly I might add; that we have a great group “of partiers,” and great friends that are like our own little DC family. He also said NYE would be the best night of our tenure together, and then proceeded to get iced twice and pass out for the rest of the evening, thereby missing the entire night. Classic.

Happy new year to all, and may 2011 be even better than 2010.

Sara

One Response to happy new year!

  1. Nicole says:

    I know one thing for sure, drinking less is definitely not something I plan to do in 2011. If anything, I hope to drink more!

    Even if you can’t move to another country, just making sure you do a little international travel here and there can really help with wanderlust. Travel is like the main thing I look forward to every year. If I just worked all year long and never left the country, I’d be one miserable SOB.

    That way, you can still live in DC and get that dog. Dogs are awesome! And your dog can protect you from that ghost.

Leave a Reply

