ghost update

I don’t think I’ve posted about this recently due to how scared I was from your comments last time, so I figured I’d update you all on the ghost situation. But please, in the interest of me keeping my sanity, keep your comments about the feasibility of there actually being a ghost to yourself this time. Thank you.

I had an electrician come about a month ago, who told me that the downstairs light that was on when I got home one night possibly had a switch loose. He tightened the switch. Knock on wood, there has not been any unreasonable activity with that particular light fixture since. However, the upstairs fan/light is another story. The electrician told me that since it was operating on a remote, perhaps the batteries were low.  He replaced the batteries, and I figured that would take care of the issue. But no. About two weeks ago, I was awoken at 3am by that same bright light going on over my bed. WHAM – pitch black and then all of a sudden I’ve got lights glaring in my eyes. Yeah, I couldn’t really sleep the rest of the night. That being said, this past weekend I got home to that same light being on again. Luckily I was half in the bag, so I wasn’t too worried about it at the time. Also, I feel okay about this light (but not great) simply because it is remote operated.  I did a little research to which I found that radio and cell phone frequencies can trigger a remote operated light or fan to go on and off. So I’ve got that going for me.

But I had actually forgotten about what happened last night until I was just gchatting a friend and it all came back to me. Perhaps I blacked out the incident. I have this ‘trap door’ on the wall next to my bed that leads to the area that contains the furnace. It also separates my apartment from my neighbor, which means I can hear his every move over there (mainly his horrible hacking cough from his lovely smoking addiction). The door does not latch, but up until recently it had no problem remaining shut. I’m not sure what has happened in the past few days, but last night I was sleeping and was awoken by something banging on my bed. Scary, yes. I woke up in a minor frenzy and then realized it was the ‘trap door’ that had fallen open onto the bed. Awesome. So basically I am looking into a pitch black hole and the door has somehow opened by itself with no prodding whatsoever, at least on my end. Hello Caspera.

Just kidding. My place is definitely creepy, but there have been logical explanations for everything so far. Now, I have no idea what could have possible caused that door to open last night, thus falling onto my bed and waking me up, but somehow I managed to just accept that I live in a very odd apartment and was able to go back to sleep. I also decided at this point that it was a good idea to tape that sucker shut. Now, if I come home and that tape is peeled from the wall, we have a problem.

Leave a Reply

