Hola

…from Espana! I sit here on the train and continue to want to practice my Spanish as I write. Right now I’m on a train to Valencia. No, Valencia was not in the original plan. But I guess that’s the beauty of traveling solo. I do what I want, when I want, cause I can. Traveling solo, you may ask? Si. I was really feeling the itch to hit up Sevilla, and Madrid wasn’t cutting it for me. So we landed Sunday, basically walked around and drank in plazas all day, and then on Monday morning I made another decision on a whim and jumped on the AVE train to Sevilla, con myself. Yes, I was slightly terrified. Traveling solo in a foreign country when my Spanish isn’t really all that wonderful was a tough decision, but glad I decided that I was up for the challenge. Now the first thing to consider when traveling is lodging. Where the eff was I going to stay? Hostel or hotel? After my Madrid hostel experience, which was less than cleanly, every bone in my body said “hotel.” But the more logical (I would say frugal but that had nothing to do with the decision) side of me said that if I wanted to meet people, the only option is a hostel. Googled one who had an opening on the train and I was in like flynn. Best decision ever. This hostel was not nasty like the one in Madrid. Plus, as soon as I walked in the door attempting to check in, I was able to jump on a walking tour. Perfecto. While the tour did take forever, I was able to hit all the highlights of Sevilla en tres horas. Right after the walking tour was a tapas tour. Okay, that could be a good idea. Jump on that straight from the walking tour, then immediately follow up with that with a bar tour. After arriving in Sevilla at 3, I didn’t get home till 5am. Hanging out with complete strangers and had a blast. After leaving my four guy friends in Madrid, I noticed at one point I was with four guys again. I can’t seem to get away from these people. So I stayed in Sevilla two nights. The plan was to meet the guys back up in Barcelona. However, when I went to the train station yesterday to buy my ticket, the only seat available was for 250 euros. Well eff my life, I’m not paying that! That is ludicrous. Luckily, I found a 40 euro train to valenia, also on the coast but still in the Andalucia (sp?) of Spain, which so far I love. Clearly I am going to need to come back here at some point to finish my travels. And its funny because everyone I meet has been traveling for months. I can only imagine how awesome that is. What I’m wondering is why the hell I didn’t do this sooner. This traveling solo thing is pure brilliance. I can see myself possibly not going home. Just kidding. 😛

Anyway, the point of this post was not to give details about the trip so far. But I’m bored as shit and will be for the next 8 hour train ride so what the hell. Why not run down my battery. On the train to Sevilla, I got two meals, free drinks, newspapers. You name it, I was treated like a queen. I was really impressed with the European train system. It was not until just now that I realized it was because I was seated en la coche para la preferente, otherwise know as “preferred class.” I did not pay for preferred class and they did not check my ticket, so what would stop me from getting en la preferred car now? Phhh, nothing. If they ask, I will continue to play dumb. Dumb Americans. I probably just jinxed myself on that one, but right now it’s still looking good. A la preferente.

Okay so we’ll see how Valencia goes. Again no clue where I’m going. I will just ask upon arrival in my broken Espanol where the best area to stay is. And you better bet it will be near the beach. Heck yes. Also, an Aussie I met on the three tours on Monday will also be in Valencia. Expanding my social network worldwide. You know how I roll.

One Response to Hola

  1. Jean says:

    Typical Sara. Love it. Take tons of pics!

Leave a Reply

