LML

Many of you may have already heard, but on a whim, I booked a flight to Spain late Friday night, leaving this weekend. Nothing like booking a last minute flight at 2:30am after a night out and while buzzed. I woke up the next morning and asked myself, “did I really just do that?” Guess now I’m stuck. But hey, what have I got to lose? [Except for maybe a whole hell of a lot of money]. Booking this flight this late in the game is the true definition of living my life (LML). Another term coined by Big D, who we will be meeting in Madrid. Taking the UBG global – literally, we will become the Spain Bike Gang (SBG). Yes, we will be biking in Barcelona.

When I booked the flight Friday night, I knew very little of what this trip would entail. Let me first point out that I’m going with four guys. Yes, I am the only girl. Not a big deal as I’m usually one of the guys anyway, but an interesting tidbit to throw in there for you nonetheless. These guys like to party – another interesting factoid. Also, I knew we would be staying in hostels, yes. Did I know that staying in hostels equates to what they call “backpacking?” No, that I did not know. I did not know we would be backpacking until yesterday when Big D texted me a picture of his backpack, containing 16 days of clothes and other materials. So today, I went to REI and bought a huge ass backpack, among other necessities. Nothing like testing your limits and roughing it for a bit. All in the name of living your life.

If anyone has any helpful hints or recommendations on what to do and see while there, please let me know. If I don’t have a chance to blog before I depart, so long and farewell. Will be gone for 9 days. I cannot believe I am flying by myself for 9 hours on a plane, knowing I am terrified of flying. The things you do on a whim. But honestly, many times the most spontaneous things you do are the most memorable. Without a doubt.

LML,
Juana (my Spanish name in high school)

2 Responses to LML

  1. JK says:

    you should watch the movie hostels before you go 😉

  2. Nicole says:

    Wow. Spain on a whim? You’re my spontaneity hero. And what a fabulous place to select. I hope to travel to Spain myself one day.

    Not to freak you out or anything, but be careful when you’re there, what with the vague recent terror alerts in Europe.

    Back to the positive stuff: Have fun in Spain. Bike your little heart out and I expect to see pics on your blog when you return. I know not pics of yourself, of course, but of Spain and stuff. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

