FYI

moving sucks.  Just in case you were not aware.  Moving sucks even more if you are doing it by yourself. Figured this move would be a piece of cake since I am just moving upstairs. Negative. It has actually taken me 4 days to move stuff already and I’m still not done. Next time I move, it’ll be to another building so that I can make an excuse to hire movers. In fact, I don’t think I’m ever moving again. It’s just that bad.

On a side note, I moved into a loft unit. The stairs to the loft are…interesting. My friends helped me move the big stuff over the weekend, and immediately upon entering the unit said that someone is going to knock their eye out if I don’t put pillows over a portion of the staircase that juts out, just waiting for someone to ram into it. So what do I do on Sunday? Ram my head into it – twice. Also, those stairs are steep and narrow. So if I happen to disappear and no one can locate me, it is because I fell down those stairs. Hopefully it does not come to this.

Another thing I learned over the weekend: the reason I am still single is actually because of my TV. After my friends enlightened me with this new information, I think it’s about time to upgrade to a flat screen.

my old school 1970's wood panel 19" TV

I am sad to part with this old school TV, simply because it’s been in the family for longer than I’ve been alive. In fact, I tried to get rid of the thing last year and did, only to reclaim it because I wasn’t in a position at the time to buy an upgraded model. Shockingly, Felipe actually wanted it but now does not. Luckily, it seems that people on freecycle will take anything and everything you happen to offer up. So hopefully someone scoops this bad boy up before it lands in the dump. That would be sad.

4 Responses to FYI

  1. Jen says:

    you’re not still single because of your tv! it’s because of your tv AND your couch.

  2. Nicole says:

    I had a very similar television up until two years ago when I moved. I put it on freecycle and it was picked up with the quickness. They really will take anything.

  3. Nicole says:

    I also got rid of basically an entire apartment worth of furniture and a bunch of other junk within a week before I moved — all on freecycle.

    Even managed to get rid of my entire bedroom set which included a headboard with a built-in stereo and speakers (don’t ask) to a deaf person who requested it on freecycle. Kind of a waste though, with the stereo and all. Was that mean?

Leave a Reply

