bike love

The title of this post has two meanings. Yes, I love my bike…I think that much has been established. But what about finding love on a bike? This is one of the stories I had held back on telling, but I think it’s about that time to share.

About a month ago I was riding home from work on a Friday and just decided to run some errands and such on the way home, not planning to go out that night. Well, when I finally got home, I realized I had nothing in the fridge for dinner so promptly turned back around and headed to Point Chaud, my favorite creperie down the street. So I’m sitting outside mowing my crepe, and a fellow biker rolls up on a road bike, then proceeds to sit next to me. Not thinking about whether or not he was cute, but clearly interested in his bike, I say “nice bike.” That of course led to casual bike speak, for which I finish my crepe and am about to head off, but offer up…”well, if you ever want to go on a ride sometime…” At this point, he takes my number, but we don’t exchange numbers (note to self for next time – exchange numbers). He puts my number in his phone and then says,

That’s a weird number.

Mind you, I have never heard that reaction to my phone number before. I was tired that day and maybe a little bit thrown off that I was actually talking to a random cute guy with common cycling interests. I rarely just strike up conversation with a random guy. At the time, I wasn’t really thinking anything of it. In fact, my response was,

I made it up.

I said that because I actually did pick my number, so basically made it up. Thinking that something might have been off, I head home. However, I didn’t get very far, because biker guy rides up behind me and asks if I’d like to go for ice cream. Well, sure I’ll go for ice cream. We ride down 14th Street to ACKC, lock our bikes together (it was kind of cute, I admit), get the ice cream and then sit outside for a good hour or so just talking. He then tells me that he not only has the bike he was on for triathalons and such, but owns three other bikes. It might sound crazy, but that was a huge score for me, even if one of the bikes is a tandem which he got to take girls on dates (corny but still cute).

this is a tandem

Okay yeah I may not ever be caught dead on that thing, but still. So the point of my story is this: met random biker guy, he was cute and nice, we had a nice impromptu Friday night “date,” and then I never heard from him again. Thinking back on it, I remember that odd feeling I had when I gave him my number. Did he just not call? Perhaps, but I don’t see why he wouldn’t have. I am pretty sure that I inadvertently switched the last two digits of my phone number. When I said it, I remember thinking something was off. And then his comment about it being a weird number? No one has ever said that to me before because I haven’t given them the wrong number. The last two digits switched does make it into a “weird number.” Only me.

Before I told my sister Jean about this story, I was leaning towards just thinking that he didn’t call, despite the nagging feeling in the pit of my stomach that I was the one who effed this one up. Jean has since convinced me that this is something that I would do, and that I definitely switched the number. So, I posted a missed connection on Craigslist. Crazy, I know. So far, no hits. But again, it’s probably because it’s not mid-September yet.

Sara

P.S. Not posting the missed connection here because I know that you all would torture me with it.

Leave a Reply

