The Palm Reading

Sitting here watching The Bachelorette (no idea why) and a rather comical image ran through my head. Me, Sara, as The Bachelorette. Can you, friends, just picture me trying to decide between 20+ guys? Kind of a hilarious picture if you know me and my decision making skills. What would I do? Who would I choose and why? Comical image; at least I can amuse myself. I think me driving myself crazy and trying to make a decision would be all the entertainment viewers would need.

Speaking of dating, a few friends and I just so happened to get our palms read last weekend. Why in the world did we get our palms read, you may ask? Maybe I’m going through a 1/3 life crisis, I don’t know. Or, according to the pyschic, I suppose it would be a mid-life crisis since I’ll only make it to my 70’s. Bummer.

So we got our palms read on a whim, just for kicks. Who knew this woman would have such an impact on my life? Partly joking, partly not. The crazy thing was that this woman was SPOT ON for all of us, as if she knew us or something. How in the world did she know I was on medication, but it wasn’t for anything serious? How did she know I recently broke things off with someone? Really, really odd and freaky and kind of surreal. She rambled off information so quick that we wished we had taped each reading. Things I gleaned from my reading were:

  • Main Point #1: As stated, apparently I will only live to my late 70’s. Now that, kids, was like a dagger to my heart. I want to live into my late 90’s! However, at least I won’t die in a freak accident as my sister Liv dreamt about over the weekend. Picture this phone conversation:

Liv: I had a dream about you last night.
Sara: Oh? (clearly pleased). What happened?
Liv: You died.

So as you can imagine, after hearing that I was going to die in a freak accident Saturday morning followed by living into my 70’s by Saturday afternoon, 70’s didn’t seem like such a bad outlook.

  • Main Point #2: I am a caring person. Then she goes on to elaborate, saying that I’m so caring about others, I neglect myself. How in the world did she know this? My close friends and family tell me this all the time. Sure, I’ve heard it before, but something about this psychic telling me it again stuck. That same night, instead of appeasing friends and family and going out until 4am as I ordinarily would, I decided to bail and call it a night at midnight so I could be productive on Sunday. Yep, thank you psychic.
  • Main Point #3: Since she somehow knew about the recent breakup, she proceeded to go on and tell me that I had made the right decision in ending it and that he was not the right one for me. Did she know I was waffling on the decision and that I needed that guidance? Why am I listening to a psychic? I have no idea, but I’m going to go with it. Only because of….
  • Main Point #4: Listen to this one kids…I am not only destined to be married with children, but I am slated to meet my future husband soon. Like mid-September soon! Now, I know you all are going to be following up come late September to see who the lucky guy is. I am certainly curious myself. And if it doesn’t happen? You know I will go demand my hard earned $10 back! Guess it’s the summer of fun for me before I have to settle down in the fall.

So, that is the gist of it. What I learned from this very fruitful meeting was threefold – take care of myself, let the old relationships go (I was struggling with this), and have fun this summer cause marriage is just around the corner.

Yep, I might start looking at potential wedding destinations. Just kidding.

5 Responses to The Palm Reading

  1. Mo says:

    Seriously she was amazing! I’m def going to get a follow-up one!

  2. Jean says:

    This was certainly one of your much more comical blogs. Things of note:
    1. My imagination went wild with the thought of you as the bachelorette. I would seriously die laughing, and think you would drive all of the us insane with the indecision. hilarious.
    2. We’ve been telling you to take care of yourself here for how many years and a psychic tells you and you start to do it??? unbelievable. thank god, though.
    3. Glad you finally decided to let go of the ex(es). for all of our sanity 🙂 We’ll see if it lasts, htough.
    Good blog!

  3. MIA says:

    Bawahaha..I wonder if they are casting the Bachlorette come mid-sept? How perfect would that be for you.
    As for the psychic? Where is this lady of widom because I could definatly use some.

    • Sara says:

      U Street! Just let me know if you want to go – I’d love to go back and see her and have a few others interested as well. haha

      • Sylvia says:

        I would like to go see her. With my luck with men she would probably say I would end up as an old spinster. Since I am 37 yrs old it would take a while for me to become one. LOL!

Leave a Reply

