DC Film Fest

So I finally saw a film via DC Film Fest. Now, I am no movie buff. However, if there is a good flick out that will teach me something and will leave a lasting impression, I want to see it. Who knew that a B rated movie from DC Film Fest would leave this lasting impression. Tonight, a certain someone and I (person to remain nameless) went to see The Balibo Conspiracy. Wow. It was one of those movies in which it ends and you leave the theatre, but in all honesty think you might get shot because you are living out a scene in the movie. A true story, it tells of the “Balibo Five;” five reporters from Australia who went to East Timor in 1975 to report on the Indonesian invasion of the island and, dare I say this, genocide of the Timorese people. It is based on a book called Cover-Up or Balibo by Jill Jolliffe (oddly, or maybe not so oddly, it is very difficult to track down this book in a google search). It was so good that I got home and immediately started researching the history of East Timor and the conflict, which, before the movie I had no knowledge of.

Unfortunately, tonight’s showing was the last in DC. I’m not sure where else it will be shown. I figured the movie was impressive enough that it was worth a post, even if it is controversial and will be difficult for people to see moving forward. In fact, I am convinced that the only reason it didn’t make it to the big screen is because of the controversy surrounding it, as major world powers do not want to be held accountable for their role in the conflict. It is times like these when I am reminded how the media and the government controls what we see and hear…and what we think. So, I applaud this movie and DC Film Fest for telling the story of the East Timorese. I’d venture to say that the directors got the point across pretty well.

If you can’t see the movie, at least you can read the book, if you can find that. Good luck.

One Response to DC Film Fest

  1. vanessa says:

    when are you going to come to clarendon, we miss you….

Leave a Reply

