SOL

So I was just wondering, when exactly does the statute of limitations expire on when you can wish someone a happy new year? I was just upstairs in the caf standing in line to buy some much needed coffee, when two people who hadn’t seen each other in a while were winding down their conversation.

Guy: It was so good to see you…(added bonus) happy new year!
Woman: (surprised but pleased)..thank you!

Mind you, it is now January 21st. How long can you wish someone a happy new year? For the entire month of January? When do we limit this, people? Feel free to weigh in. I just found it odd. My inclination would be to give it until January 10th, then call it a day. I mean, after that we’re getting close to MLK Day, Valentine’s Day, and President’s Day. Does the new year trump MLK? I’m not so sure about that.

2 Responses to SOL

  1. efyoo2 says:

    I would say single digit days.

  2. Jen says:

    I actually think you can say it the whole month of January but only to people you haven’t seen at all since December.

    Weird. Never thought I had an opinion on this. Turns out I do!

Leave a Reply

