treadmill stroll

So I’m at the gym last night, and I’m on the treadmill going for a casual jog.  I hate jogging on the treadmill, but when the weather is rough outside it really is the only option.  Plus, I needed to test out the shoes.  You know, the ones that I have to tie so tightly that they cut off my circulation.  So I’m on the treadmill, and I notice this guy in front of me on one as well.  Except he is not going for a casual jog, nor a casual walk, but a casual stroll.  By stroll I mean I am so dumbfounded by how slowly he’s walking that I look at his speed and he is strolling at a solid 2.4.  TWO POINT FOUR?????  I’m running at a good 6.0.  When I walk, I walk at a fast pace at 4.2, but never slower than a 3.6.  But a TWO POINT FOUR?  I mean, dude may as well have just stayed at home.  What is the point of walking on a treadmill at 2.4?  Really, they shouldn’t even give you that option.  In fact, at that rate, you may as well just go negative.  They should really start it at 3.4 at the lowest.  But no, he is casually strolling along at a 2.4.  I really don’t see the point of that.  Even though the gym was hot, I highly doubt he broke any semblance of a sweat at that pace.  I bet he burned a solid 10 calories in the 10 minutes he was on the treadmill.  I really think you could have burnt more sitting on the couch watching TV.  Anyway, found that amusing. And of course, nowadays whenever I see something slightly amusing, I automatically think in terms of blogging.  Was this particular instance bloggable?  I thought so.  Or maybe I really am just lacking in material.

Leave a Reply

