More run-ins

I really love running into people I used to date.  This past Friday night, I was out at Liberty Tavern in Clarendon and who did I see?  Good ole Rico.  If you don’t recall from previous posts, this was the dude who ended things because he said he didn’t want to start something only to end it soon thereafter, since he was picking up and moving to Colombia in August.  I’ll just remind you that it’s November and he still seems to be here, unless he has a twin brother I was unaware of.  On Friday night we made eye contact and then he hid behind a pole the whole time to avoid me.  Good thinking.  Because if he was anywhere near me I would have asked him how the hookah bar he was planning to start up in Colombia was going.  Was he perhaps just back in DC on a vacation?

Okay I must really have too many ex’s because when I was 28, I decided it was okay to date a 21 year old.  Call me what you will, but I must have been off with the ex or something and decided to test out a younger dude.  Well I was just out at Busboys and Poets, and who do I see?  21.  Yes, this was his nickname.  In fact, I just had to dig deep in this bottomless pit I call my memory to remember what his actual name is.  I haven’t seen 21 since we called it quits, I guess about three years ago.  This is a classic.  Long story short, I finally decide its okay to invite him to my place.  We are making out on the couch and then he starts kissing my stomach.  Cool.  However, soon enough I feel a biting pain, literally, where he is kissing.  I’m thinking that something is off.  Hoping it will soon end, but not comfortable enough with him yet to put an end to it (maybe he thinks older women like biting?), the pain keeps getting worse.  Finally, I look down and see that he is gripping the skin from my stomach with his teeth and pulling.  WTF?  At this point, I finally freak out and decide enough is enough.  He was pulling my skin so hard that he drew blood.  Seriously?  This was 21.  I probably would have just said hi to him, but I was actually meeting my ex who happened to be standing about 5 feet away in the book section.  Why was I meeting the ex?  I have no idea.  Half the time I wonder why I do the things I do.  Regardless, the ex and I are only friends…after all, it’s been a good couple of years now since we actually dated.  Listening to him talk, I am pretty sure I am over him anyway.  Just two old pals hanging out, with 21 a few feet away.  Oh the irony.

One Response to More run-ins

  1. Mo says:

    This city is getting too small for us. Remember that episode of Sex and the City when the girls are staring at Manhatten from the ferry coming from Staten Island and make a comment about how they’ve dated almost every man on that island. Yeah.. let’s hope it never comes to that… haha

Leave a Reply

