Granja de Oro no Super Pollo

In my quest to find a Super Pollo equivalent in DC, I stopped by Granja de Oro today in Adams Morgan.  Unfortunately, I came up empty handed.  While they did offer white meat, the spices didn’t even come close to a good white 1/4 chicken from Super P.  I hesitate to say this, but even Pollo Rico has tastier chicken.  The sides were also not comparable to Super P, but that was not a surprise as nothing will likely come close to what they offer.  Even so, they did offer white rice, yucca, fries, and salad, where Pollo Rico only offers fries and colesaw (what?!!!).  So I guess I can give Granja de Oro a distant second in the sides category.  Regardless, the chicken did not even come close to Super P and a quarter size did not nearly fill me up.  As I was leaving feeling mildly dissatisfied, I realized I was still a bit hungry.  Everyone who leaves Super Pollo feels not only content, but exhilarated!  So, to satisfy this dissatisfaction, I figured I’d stop by Jolt & Bolt, a coffee shop on the way home to see if a smoothie there would compare to a Robeks smoothie.  Um….yes yes and yes.  The strawberry and banana was simply delightful.  Okay, so the music they were playing inside was incredibly cheesy (Hands to Heaven by Breathe and Lady in Red were among some of the selections), but I’ll give that a pass in the name of a good coffee, smoothie, or sandwich.  So, while I won’t be going back to Granja de Oro anytime soon, at least I found a sweet little coffee shop in my area.  Next time I am definitely getting the spiced hot apple cider.  Yum!

One Response to Granja de Oro no Super Pollo

  1. JK says:

    from now on, whenever you blog about peruvian chicken, i am going to start singing, “i can’t GET NO! SATISFACTION!!”

Leave a Reply

