Super Pollo recovery

I was just in the process of writing another blog when I received some fabulous news.  I mean, it really just made my day.  Just a few days ago, we received word that Super Pollo in Ballston had been shut down, with no notice.  How could they?  Even though I don’t live out there any longer, this was still horrible, horrible news.  Super Pollo is an amazing Peruvian chicken joint: amazing chicken with amazing sides.  Amazing things have happened at Super Pollo (may elaborate in future blog…it’s on the list).  In my mind, it doesn’t even compare to Pollo Rico and I really have no idea why people would like that place.  First of all, despite contrary belief…I don’t do dark meat.  Chicken that is.  And Pollo Rico has dark meat.  Super Pollo is all white meat…delectable.  I don’t think Pollo Rico chicken is as tasty either, the spices to me are more robust at Super P.  Plus, Pollo Rico only has fries and cole slaw as sides.  Are you kidding me?  Super Pollo sides are at a solid 9 and Pollo Rico is at about a 2.  That alone would raise Super P above Pollo Rico in my book any day.  Add the chicken, and Super P overall is at about an 11 and Pollo Rico remains at a 2.  But oddly enough, some people still prefer Pollo Rico to Super Pollo.  It’s mind boggling to me, but true.  There are other joints in the Arlington area as well, such as Crisp & Juicy (haven’t been yet to make a judgment call) and Pio Pio, but Super P and Pollo Rico are clearly the most popular.

Anyway, I just received word that the Super Pollo that was shut down is reopening at another location.  Hallelujah!  www.welovedc.com/2009/10/22/ballston-will-be-super-once-again/.  I mean, what would devout Super Pollo fans do if it really had shut down entirely?  Go to Pollo Rico?  I don’t think so.

2 Responses to Super Pollo recovery

  1. dgiambarresi says:

    i call for a “dark meat” tag!

  2. JK says:

    “because my life is incredibly entertaining” needs to be changed to “i don’t do dark meat. chicken, that is.” LOL

    crisp ‘n juicy is delicious! don’t hate me, but i’ve never been to pollo rico or super p (although now that it’s going to be down the street from cp, i’ll have to try it!)

Leave a Reply

