really kind of sick of the office parties, no offense

I was just called a “party pooper” by a co-worker because she asked me to participate on a Halloween Planning Committee meeting and I said no.  I hate Halloween, why in the world would I want to be on the “Halloween Planning Committee?”  For those of you who don’t work in our office, the Halloween festivities consist of decorating our cubes, instead of dressing up ourselves.  I hate dressing up, so I can’t really think of a worse idea.  Then, our lone political appointee votes on the best cube decoration.  Would you just shoot me now?

We have parties for every single birthday in our division (about 12 people total), which even consist of singing and cake.  We also have fairly high turnover in this office, so every time someone leaves we have a party (recently this has been once or twice per week….no joke).  Someone is about to get married?  Party.  Someone moves into a new house?  Gift and gift presentation party.  Hawaiian Shirt Day?  Party.  Cinco de Mayo?  Party.  Christmas/Hanukkah?  Party. And how could I forget Pi Day?  Yes, on 3/14, we celebrate Pi with a Pie making contest and party.  I guess I shouldn’t really complain since I’m getting lots of free food, but when we start doing housewarming gifts every time someone moves into a new house, it gets to be a bit much.  Why don’t I get a party for being single?  And for moving into my new DC apartment in May?  I mean, seriously.

2 Responses to really kind of sick of the office parties, no offense

  1. Rachel says:

    Oh dear…let’s hope this does not happen to you.

  2. […] December 22, 2009 Sara Leave a comment Go to comments Just had another work birthday party.  Consists of singing ‘happy birthday,’ cake and all.  I’m not a huge singer, […]

Leave a Reply

