the trials and tribulations of being OCD

So last night a friend and I are waiting in line so we can get good floor seats to the U2  show at FedEx field (we ended up getting second row which was fantastic).  So we’re waiting in line and the One Campaign is going around trying to get people to sign up.  I don’t really know too much about the campaign, but I know Bono does good things.  They ask us to sign up and I want to, but I’m hesitant.  This is only because they are going around with little mini laptops and ask the people to enter in their own information.  I could just picture 50 people before me putting their little claws on that keyboard.  Touching it would have meant standing in line for another hour after that without washing my hands, and the thought of that was less than pleasant.  So she asks me, and I reply…”well, I want to, but can you type it for me?  I’m a little bit OCD.”  Why did I find the need to tell her why I didn’t want to put my fingers on the keyboard?  Regardless, she didn’t seem to have a problem with my request, so typed my info in with no qualms.  Guess she’s not OCD like me.  And oddly, she didn’t look at me like I belonged in an insane asylum when I asked her to type it.  She must get that a lot.  I guess I could have told her I had a broken finger or something, and that excuse would have been more plausible.  But, I am a horrible liar, so saying anything other than complete honesty didn’t even cross my mind at the time.  Maybe I should take covering up this little personality flaw more seriously.

Leave a Reply

